Hamilton Jazz Society Logo and link to website

Link to Hamilton Jazz Society website: www.hjs.org.nz

HJS Newsletter August 2016


Coming Up:

Sunday, 28th of August

West Coast Jazz Band
Aldrich Cecilio

Sunday 31st July, 4.30 - 7.30pm, at the Waikato Commerce Club 4.30-7.30
Adm. $15 public 0r $10 members

The West Coast Jazz Band are a five-piece jazz combo based around the Raglan area. The band specialises in playing straight-ahead jazz tunes and standards, from the “cool” styles of the late '50s, through to the present day.

Formed during 2012, with the nucleus of: Greg Taylor – piano, Jack Porima – bass and Bill Forrest on saxophone, the band has steadily progressed to include drummer Freddy Limbert and  trumpet player Grant Mason. Each member has played in previous outfits, which subsequently led to a commonality between the players – the love of jazz. Their main influences include; Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Bill Evans, Ahmad Jamal, Sonny Rollins, Art Blakey, Horace Silver, Charlie Parker, Thelonius Monk and the like.

This, along with accumulative musical skill, dedication, and a desire to push their musical boundaries, ultimately led to the forming of the band. 

Our supporting artist this month is talented violinist Aldrich Cecilio. A student at St John's College, Aldrich can be found most Saturdays at the Frankton Markets where he has attracted a popular following. Aldrich is active in various school bands, cultural groups, the orchestra and the Liturgy musical team.


Other events at the Commerce Club:

Sunday, 25th of September

Craig Williams + Support

This band, comprising Craig Williams piano, Stu Johnstone bass and Trevor Thwaites drums, has a varied repertoire of jazz covering 1930s and 1940s jazz standards, bebop numbers and modern contemporary jazz. 


Sunday, 30th of October

Edwina Thorne t.b.c.


Sunday, 30th of October

Tracy and Fever + Support


Sunday, 18th of December

Art Gecko + River City Stompers


HJS Committee are:

• Simon Hopewell - President,

• Philip Tinkler - Vice-President,

• Priscilla Wilson - Secretary,

• Ian Falconer - Membership Secretary,

• Maciek Hrybowicz - Webmaster + Newsletter,

• Tracy Hopewell - Treasurer,

• Jenny van der Hulst - Promotions.

Visit our website at www.hjs.org.nz