HJS Logo

HJS Newsletter September 2019


  • All subscriptions are now due. Please grab a renewal form from the web page hjs.org.nz/join or from the desk.

Next meeting:

Sunday, 29th of September

The Znote Jazz Band

support Aldrich Cecilio
Znote Screenshot Poster 10-09-19
The Znote Jazz Band wowed us back in March. This international line up of, Zimieel Jooste (keyboard), Yolanda Jooste (Vocals), Caylen Crawford (guitar), Joshua Dann (saxophone), Carlos Pla (bass), Andrew Hewatt (drums) and Cara Graham (vocals), return this month.
  • Zimieel, a Music Therapist for the Community Living Trust. won the 2019 Korg Australasian Grammar award for Chord Progression (Keyboardist) & Music Production.
  • Zolanda and Kara are both talented vocalists. Zolanda in Jazz and Gospel choirs, and Kara regularly performed in NZ, UK and Australia at festivals and lately, Speakeasy Jazz.
  • Caylen Crawford, guitarist, bassist and film composer from New York, worked with musicians from around the world before moving to NZ where he continues to write, record and perform.
  • Josh Dann, works at Waikato Hospital as a radiographer. Josh has been a part of church bands, his own covers band, the Swamp City Big Band and now Znote.
  • Carlos Pla from Uruguay, moved to NZ in 2002, Carlos has established himself as a talented bass player and is regularly heard at festivals, Speakeasy, and with various Jazz and Blues bands.
  • Andrew Hewat majored in Jazz performance, since returning to Hamilton, he has played in ‘Out Of The Blues’ and currently with jazz quartet - 5th Degree

Coming up:

  • Sunday 20th October – early because of Labour weekendSarah Jane Limbrick with 5th Degree.
  • Sunday 28th November – Wizard and Oz return
  • Sunday 15th December Art Gecko for our Christmas Party. (Please note early date)

HJS committee:

Simon Hopewell - President
Philip Tinkler - Vice-President
Priscilla Wilson - Secretary & Membership
Maciek Hrybowicz - Webmaster/Newsletter
Vanessa Clark-Ward - Membership
Cynthia Gale - Treasurer
Stuart Bayes - Committee Member
David Oldfield - Committee Member
Hamilton Press