HJS Logo

HJS Newsletter November 2018


  • All subscriptions are due on the 1st March 2019. Please grab a renewal form from the web page hjs.org.nz/join or from the desk. Early payment will help Hamilton Jazz Society’s funds.
  • Please give some thought to joining the HJS committee for 2019 at our March AGM, to replace retiring members. If you are interested, contact our president, Simon Hopewell president@hjs.org.nz, or another committee member.

Next meeting:

Please note the correct date: Sunday, 24th of February

Chill Factor (support TBA)

Chil Factor HJS
Sun, 25th of November @ Waikato Commerce Club, 197 Collingwood Street, Hamilton. 4.30-7.30 | Adm. $20 public or $15 members.

Spotted at the 2018 Tauranga Jazz Festival, the Hamilton Jazz Society (Inc) are proud to present Chill Factor in concert, 4.30-7.30pm Sunday 24th February, at the Waikato Commerce Club, 197 Collingwood Street, Hamilton.

Chill Factor is made up of core members of the Tauranga Blues Jam ensemble, who can be heard on the second Wednesday of each month at Jack Dusty’s Ale House in Tauranga as the ‘house band’.

From 2012 until November 2018, they performed monthly at the now defunct Drivers Bar. The group has also played at a number of venues in the Bay of Plenty, most notably at the Easter 2018 Tauranga Jazz Festival.

Chill Factor’s line-up comprises:
  • David Porter, bass and vocals
  • Ken Green, keyboard and vocals
  • Simon Fenlon, drums
  • Tony Baucke, guitar and vocals.
David, Ken and Simon are domiciled in the Tauranga district while Tony lives in Hamilton.

Each musician has many years of experience playing a wide range of musical styles and individuals also perform in bands other than Chill Factor.

The group’s repertoire consists mainly of interpretations of blues numbers drawn from the beginnings of the genre to the present day.

Supporting act to be advised.

Do join us. It is a great way to relax and unwind at the end of the weekend, even step it out on the dance floor if the mood takes you.

Drinks, snacks and dinner are available for purchase from the Club.

Coming up:

  • TBA

HJS committee:

Simon Hopewell - President
Philip Tinkler - Vice-President
Priscilla Wilson - Secretary & Membership
Maciek Hrybowicz - Webmaster/Newsletter
Vanessa Clark-Ward - Membership
Cynthia Gale - Treasurer
Stuart Bayes - Committee Member
David Oldfield - Committee Member
Hamilton Press