HJS Logo

HJS Newsletter September 2017


  • Your support in spreading the word about our Jazz concerts is much appreciated. We have some great talent on offer; your friends would be most welcome.
  • With retirements we have Committee vacancies. If you are interested in joining us, please contact Simon at president@hjs.org.nz.

Next meeting:

Sun, 24th of September

Slippery Noodle + Mark Taipari

Waikato Commerce Club, 197 Collingwood Street, Hamilton. 4.30-7.30 | Adm. $20 public or $15 members
Slippery Noodle
Slippery Noodle fuse jazz, Latin, funk and soul to forge their own exciting brand of world music. The trio combines musicians of three nationalities. On bass guitar and vocals is Carlos Pla (Uruguay), on drums, percussion and tenor saxophone Nathan Koretz (New Zealand) and on guitar and vocals Lott Larsson (USA). The sound is undeniable chemistry. From an opening set of classic jazz featuring tenor saxophone, to a bracket of creative original material, the rhythm section lays down a platform of infectious groove, while Lott Larsson weaves inspired guitar melodies. Wonderfully entertaining, Slippery Noodle enriches any concert or event with musical vitality.
Mark Taipari 2
Mark Taipari, who charmed us with his guitarmanship and vocals in April, returns as our supporting artist this month. Mark, a talented and experienced Kiwi musician, has delivered classy and relaxed performances for literally hundreds of functions over 30 years in the music industry. We look forward to hearing his relaxed style of blues and jazz again.

Coming Up:

  • October 29th - Out of the Blues - A standout band at the recent Bay of Islands Jazz and Blues Festival, featuring Haggis Maguiness: voc/harp; Maciek: guitar; Carlos Pla: bass; Andrew Hewitt: drums
  • November 26th - Torch Songs (Carol Storey, Liam Ryan, Grant Mason, Dave Maybee, Wayne Melville and Neil Reynolds)

HJS committee:

Simon Hopewell - President
Philip Tinkler - Vice-President
Priscilla Wilson - Secretary & Membership
Maciek Hrybowicz - Webmaster/Newsletter
Vanessa Clark-Ward - Committee member
Hamilton Press